when the writer mama wants to write…

I must sit down and work on my next post. I’ll have to rise early morning if I really have to see it happening. How can I? Dania( my 3 years old daughter) wakes up as soon as I leave my bed, as if she knows what I’m thinking! Ok, so this topic sounds interesting. I really want to share it with my readers…goes on my soliloquy. I, excited and determined grab my laptop, browse off to my blog site, ready to write and…no…wait…It’s Dania calling! I’m really hungry mama! It’s her lunch time. I had just given her the meal and thought I was done with the job. Well, looks like, I wasn’t. Its not that she’s hungry, she just doesn’t like the scene where mama is sitting peacefully and dares to indulge in some personal business. Kids, somehow, don’t approve of the sight of comfy and cosy mums, do they!? Anyway, I go and give her the attention that she cleverly hijacks. Fine, I’ll get back to my task later, is my cold comfort to myself.

Dania is done and is busy playing with her toys. As soon as I assume that it’s safe to resume my writing, rings another bell. Mama, I need to go to the toilet, demands Dania! You’re a big girl now, Dania, you can go to the toilet by yourself, I suggest, helplessly. Nooo, you go too, mama…please, implores my little devil! Knowing that this plea will soon soar into a storm, I put my stuff aside and rush her to the loo. Now, she somehow loves spending ‘quality time’ sitting on her toilet seat. So, no chance of an easy escape from this appointment. Standing outside, I’m counting seconds, then minutes..All this while Dania is enjoying singing songs, playing with the toilet roll and worse if she’s got I Pad with her there. Time is ticking on. Are you done, Dania?, enquire the impatient me. Not yet, mama, comes Dania’s casual reply! This toilet tussle continues for ever if I don’t trick her out soon.

Finally, it looks all clear. Till its her bedtime, what possibly can interrupt me now, I cautiously calculate. I sneak out of the site and quietly( read stealthily) start my writing. Well, the threat that anything can pop up any moment restrains my creativity pull. A part of me actually starts chanting: All is well…All is well!!! Then, words start appearing on the screen. My fancy gets a kick start, ideas- unleashed- just seem flowing free. I am really thriving on whatever I have composed so far. And dah! A hard squeaky break stops my Ferrari of forensic writing, there and then. What do you guess? Yes, its Dania’s bedtime! She has to go to bed and she just doesn’t allow anyone else to do this job for her, not even daddy. No choice but put my work on hold..

Her bedtime is a complete ritual. She has to be convinced that how crucial it is to brush her teeth, wash her hands and face and change her clothes before she goes to bed. The longest and the hardest mission is to brush her teeth. Thanks to her favourite Cbeebies character, Dr Ranj, who often rescues us on such occasions. Remember what Dr Ranj says, Dania? He says that bugs hide in your teeth and if you don’t brush, the bugs will eat up all your teeth! Look, I can see these bugs dancing in your mouth…lets wash them out, shall we?, continues our campaign. Then, its bedtime story time. It goes on for quite a while. Spiderman, monster, dolly, little star and monkey are the regular characters we tell a tale about. At last, Dania is asleep. Peace prevails and I have all the time in the world to do whatever I wish to do, even writing!! If you are also thinking the same, my friends, then let me tell you humbly that you are sadly and terribly mistaken. I might have time to deliver some more chores and tasks, but, honestly, I am left with not much energy and spirit to carry out any more plans, particularly, the ones that need brain!!

My whole day revolves around my little princess and her kiddy needs and demands. From breakfast to bed time, we have a number of things to do together. When its not her, its the household that stands up like a giant monster and keeps me on the mad run around the house and outside too. You want to write? A great idea but what about those dirty dishes, untidy house, pile of clothes, grocery, cooking, feeding and so on and so forth that need to be done yet? Yes, that’s equally important. At the end of the day, this is my domain as well.

Now you have got quite a picture of what a mum like me goes through to create something creative. Next time, if my posts get delayed or seem never coming into being at all, just believe that I must be juggling with all that shown above and more. The ‘more’ part is actually comprised of what is not said about another rival of my writing, hubby! That’s another story of its own details; some other time, may be…!!

6 thoughts on “when the writer mama wants to write…

  1. Mao says:

    OMG!! this is such a nice piece of writing. I could actually imagine all that happening while reading as if I was narrating a story, witnessed. Good Job Nishat Aapi. Keep on writing.

  2. Husnain Haider says:

    Excellent piece of writing , It sounds me like a skilled writer and I’m really impressed .
    Keep writing .

  3. Khadija says:

    If I say I read all of it ill be lying ! But all
    The bits I read were fantastic . So talented
    U r! Keep it up. U could be the Voice of all the mums who work so hard While staying home but it hardly gets
    Appreciated ! Fab work. Well done. Xxx

Leave a comment